I Want to Tell You a Story

My friend’s six year old daughter, Isabella, loves telling stories. Sometimes they’re a breathless sentence or two. Sometimes she rambles on all morning. This is her latest:

“I want to tell you a story. Once upon a time, there was a princess who lost her favorite shoe in a spooky forest. And there were wishes. They weren’t people wishes, with eyes and hands and feet and skin. They were star wishes. And then, I got her shoe back. The end.”

They weren’t people wishes, with eyes and hands and feet and skin. They were…

I’ve been repeating this to myself over and over again for the past few days. It’s beautiful. What does it mean? Where did a six year old come up with this? What sort of wishes were they? What happened next?

It reminded me of a Phillip Pullman quote: “Fairy tales are too easy for children, and too hard for adults.” Sometimes, I would love to be able to tell stories like a child.

Leave a Reply

