Neil Gaiman’s Advice to Aspiring Writers

il_fullxfull_200977345

The site “Brain Pickings” recently posted a wonderful short video of part of an interview with Neil Gaiman. He’s my favorite writer for a reason (c’mon, you know this guy is genius!), and his advice to fellow writers is always superb. My favorite quote from the video is “If you only write when you’re inspired, you may be a fairly decent poet, but you will never be a novelist.” No offense to fairly decent poets (I’m one myself, or even less than fairly decent), but that’s not what I want to be for the rest of my life. There’s no way to grow without writing even when you don’t want to. Perhaps Mr. Gaiman should have added (for my own benefit), “You will never be a novelist if you don’t write because you think you don’t have time?”

Click here for the full video and all words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

